Opted out user updates
Posted: July 26th, 2026, 3:07 pm
I recently was notified by geocaching.com that how data for opted out users are revealed to third party partners will be changing. This change will most likely occur in early August.
The basic change is that third party partners, such as LonelyCache, will no longer receive opted out users' identities. As I write this, we receive IDs but not names, or log text.
What this means for LonelyCache, is that there will no longer be any way to track what caches opted out users have found. Likewise, LonelyCache will not be able to know what opted out users have found a cache. Also, LonelyCache will not be able to know what caches an opted out user owns, nor who owns a cache, if the owner has opted out. LonelyCache should, in most all cases, know how many cachers have found a cache. In light of this, opted out users will no longer be included in any leaderboards and will essentially be excluded from LonelyCache altogether.
I'm working on changes to LonelyCache to support these updates.
Regards,
Russell
The basic change is that third party partners, such as LonelyCache, will no longer receive opted out users' identities. As I write this, we receive IDs but not names, or log text.
What this means for LonelyCache, is that there will no longer be any way to track what caches opted out users have found. Likewise, LonelyCache will not be able to know what opted out users have found a cache. Also, LonelyCache will not be able to know what caches an opted out user owns, nor who owns a cache, if the owner has opted out. LonelyCache should, in most all cases, know how many cachers have found a cache. In light of this, opted out users will no longer be included in any leaderboards and will essentially be excluded from LonelyCache altogether.
I'm working on changes to LonelyCache to support these updates.
Regards,
Russell