Missing cache on LonelyCache

General discussions about the website's layout and functionality
Post Reply
afudc
Benefactor
Posts: 26
Joined: January 22nd, 2012, 10:22 pm

Missing cache on LonelyCache

Post by afudc »

I was trying to look up GC5QQYN on LonelyCache and it does not seem to be in the database. It is not a new cache and it has been found by many people. The cache is located near El Paso on the New Mexico-Texas border. My guess is that the issue is that according to the cache page it is located in Texas but that the coordinates might not be within the polygon that LonelyCache uses to determine what Texas caches to include.
I just thought that it might be something to look into.
User avatar
Corfman Clan
Global Moderator
Posts: 907
Joined: January 17th, 2012, 12:21 am

Re: Missing cache on LonelyCache

Post by Corfman Clan »

Thanks for letting me know, it has now been added to LonelyCache. You are correct, in that the cache does not fall within the polygon for the Trans-Pecos region. I had to add an override to set the cache's DGP Region to Trans-Pecos. Once that was done, I was able to add the cache.

If you notice any other caches that are missing, or a region is incorrect, I can override the state/county/DGP region to fix things.
Image
afudc
Benefactor
Posts: 26
Joined: January 22nd, 2012, 10:22 pm

Re: Missing cache on LonelyCache

Post by afudc »

Thanks for fixing it. I feel good that I was able to guess at what the problem was. I did find the cache today- only 12 points but still it is nice to have it included.
User avatar
Corfman Clan
Global Moderator
Posts: 907
Joined: January 17th, 2012, 12:21 am

Re: Missing cache on LonelyCache

Post by Corfman Clan »

I also added GC1B15E - District 725,to LonelyCache. I just used geocaching's google maps, checking for caches along the New Mexico/Texas border and that was the only other cache I noticed missing.
Image
afudc
Benefactor
Posts: 26
Joined: January 22nd, 2012, 10:22 pm

Re: Missing cache on LonelyCache

Post by afudc »

I think I have found another similar cache. It is GC13ZBB on the Nevada/Idaho border. It does not have a county on LonelyCache. It looks to me that Owyhee County is probably correct. I am hoping to find this one in September.
User avatar
Corfman Clan
Global Moderator
Posts: 907
Joined: January 17th, 2012, 12:21 am

Re: Missing cache on LonelyCache

Post by Corfman Clan »

afudc wrote:I think I have found another similar cache. It is GC13ZBB on the Nevada/Idaho border. It does not have a county on LonelyCache. It looks to me that Owyhee County is probably correct. I am hoping to find this one in September.
Yes, you are correct; I have added it to Owyhee county.
Image
CougarOx
Posts: 14
Joined: January 24th, 2012, 11:21 am

Re: Missing cache on LonelyCache

Post by CougarOx »

I've noticed two more that are not showing up in the database. They are two of the four virtuals that make up the Score 4 @ Four Corners set:
GC7B63Z Score 4 @ Four Corners - Colorado which should be in the San Juan Region, and
GC7BA6X Score 4 @ Four Corners - Utah which should be in the the Slickrock region.
AZ (Grand Canyon) and NM (Shiprock) are fine.
User avatar
Corfman Clan
Global Moderator
Posts: 907
Joined: January 17th, 2012, 12:21 am

Re: Missing cache on LonelyCache

Post by Corfman Clan »

CougarOx wrote: February 26th, 2023, 3:06 pm I've noticed two more that are not showing up in the database. They are two of the four virtuals that make up the Score 4 @ Four Corners set:
GC7B63Z Score 4 @ Four Corners - Colorado which should be in the San Juan Region, and
GC7BA6X Score 4 @ Four Corners - Utah which should be in the the Slickrock region.
AZ (Grand Canyon) and NM (Shiprock) are fine.
Thanks for pointing that out. There were issues with counties too. Now all four of the Score 4 caches are in the correct region and county.
Image
Post Reply